Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The girl they left behind : a novel  Cover Image Book Book

The girl they left behind : a novel / Roxanne Veletzos.

Veletzos, Roxanne, (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781501187698
  • ISBN: 1501187694
  • ISBN: 9781501187681
  • ISBN: 1501187686
  • Physical Description: 353 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2018.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Publisher, publishing date and paging may vary.
Summary, etc.:
A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key . On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.
January 1941. A Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. Placed in an orphanage, she is adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As Romania falls under Soviet occupation, Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world. Traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Now Natalia works at a warehouse packing fruit and Victor is an important official in the Communist regime. When they cross paths they are drawn into a passionate affair despite the dark secrets of the past. -- adapted from jacket.
Subject: Families > Hungary > Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Hungary > Budapest > Fiction.
Families > Romania > Juvenile fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Romania > Bucharest > Juvenile fiction.
Hungary > Social conditions > 1945-1989 > Fiction.
Genre: Novels.
War fiction.
Historical fiction.

Available copies

  • 27 of 28 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Cameron Public. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Cameron Public Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 28 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Cameron Public Library FIC VEL (Text) 32311111197773 Adult Fiction Checked out 07/22/2022


Additional Resources